Summer School 2017

People on the Move in an Evolving Europe. EU Law and Policy on Mobility, Migration and Asylum.

nccr - on the move-Bildwelt-6

Monday, 21 August to Friday, 25 August 2017
University of Fribourg

The freedom of movement and residence for persons is one of the cornerstones of the European Union. Therefore the regulation of the mobility of economically active citizens of EU Member States and their family members  has been one of the core activities of the EU policy- and law-makers which has led to the introduction of EU citizenship with the Maastricht Treaty in 1992. However, freedom of movement is not an uncontested principle – as recent events have clearly shown. Added to this is a growing concern regarding migratory movements of Third Country Nationals to Member States of the European Union: either as labor migrants, in the form of family reunification, or as applicants for international protection. The EU and its Member States currently face the challenge of having to find a way forward within the legal and political frameworks existing in Europe. This year’s summer school aims at adressing this challenge from different perspectives.

Catherine Barnard (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
Paul James Cardwell (Strathclyde University, United Kingdom)
Kees Groenendijk (Centre for Migration Law, Radboud University, The Netherlands)
René de Groot (Maastricht University, The Netherlands)
Constantin Hruschka (Swiss Refugee Council)
Sarah Theuerkauf (nccr – on the move, University of Fribourg)
Dagmar Schiek (Queen’s University Belfast, United Kingdom)
Hildegard Schneider (Maastricht University, The Netherlands)


Cancelation Policy
Registration fee is CHF 300. In the event of cancelation by the participant, the following terms apply:

  • Cancelations made prior to 15 July 2017: Full refund, but an administrative fee of CHF 50 will be deducted.
  • Cancelations made between 16 July and 31 July 2017: Refund of fifty percent, but an administrative fee of CHF 50 will be deducted.
  • Cancelations made after 1 August 2017: No refund.