Advisory Board

In order to ensure high quality and international competitiveness of the scientific work of the nccr – on the move, the Steering Committee appoints an International Scientific Advisory Board. This body is consulted on an ad-hoc basis. It is composed of leading scientists from the NCCR core disciplines social sciences, economics, demography, and law.

Pieter Bevelander (Coordinator)
Professor in International Migration and Ethnic Relations, Malmö Institute of Migration, Malmö University, Sweden

Bridget Anderson
Professor of Mobilities, Migration and Citizenship, University of Bristol

Jürgen Bast
Professor of Public Law, Justus Liebig University Giessen, Germany

Anita Böcker
Professor of Sociology of Law, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Christina Boswell
Professor of Politics, Co-Director of SKAPE, University of Edinburgh, UK

Sergio Carrera
Head of the Justice and Home Affairs Program, Centre for European Policy Studies, Brussels, Belgium

Godfried Engbersen
Professor of Sociology, Sociology Department, Erasmus University Rotterdam

Andrew Geddes
Director of the Migration Policy Centre, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute, Florence, Italy

Gerard-René de Groot
Professor of Comparative Law and Private International Law, Co-Director of the Maastricht Centre for Citizenship, Migration and Development, Maastricht University, The Netherlands

Virginie Guiraudon
Research professor at the National Center for Scientific Research, Centre d’études européennes, Sciences Po, Paris, France

James Hollifield
Professor of International Political Economy and Director of the John Goodwin Tower Center for Political Studies, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, USA

Will Kymlicka
Professor and Canada Research Chair in Political Philosophy, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Marco Martiniello
Professor for Sociology of Migration, Director of the Center for ethnic and migration studies CEDEM, Liège, Belgium

Marek Okolski
Professor for Economics of Migration, Director of the Center of Migration Research, University of Warsaw, Poland

Karen O’Reilly
Professor of Sociology, Department of Social Sciences, Loughborough University

Lars Ostby
Senior Researcher at Statistics Norway, Oslo, Norway

Ferruccio Pastore
Director of the International and European Forum on Migration Research, Torino, Italy

Jo Shaw
Professor of European Law, University of Edinburgh, UK

Patrick Simon
Head of International Migrations and Minorities, Institute for Demographic Studies INED, Paris, France

Ann Singleton
Senior Research Fellow and Head of the Center for the Study of Poverty and Social Justice, School for Policy Studies, University of Bristol, UK

Christiane Timmerman
Research Professor and Director, Centre for Migration and Intercultural Studies, University of Antwerp

Klaus Zimmermann
Professor of Economics at the University of Bonn and Director of the Institute for the Study of Labor, Bonn, Germany